Tag Archives: Databases

Jazz Appreciation Month: Freegal Music Service

Posted on April 29, 2017 by SCblogger

Ever wish you had more Bix in your music collection?  Use Freegal Music Service to download 3 free songs per week!  Click on the link under Online Resources on our website and log in with your Davenport Public Library card to start downloading … Continue reading →

Posted in Library, Local History | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

OMG! NARA AAD Passenger Lists FYI

Posted on November 5, 2015 by SCblogger

Last month, staff from the Richardson-Sloane Special Collections Center listened in to the National Archives Virtual Genealogy Fair. One of the things we learned is that NARA’s Access to Archival Databases has indexed passenger lists available to search from home for FREE. There … Continue reading →

Posted in Genealogy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

1925 Iowa State Census

Posted on October 1, 2015 by SCblogger

This month as the Davenport Public Library celebrates The Big Read with F. Scott Fitzgerald’s 1925 classic The Great Gatsby we are exploring the 1925 Iowa State Census which you may search for free on Family Search. Unlike the Federal … Continue reading →

Posted in Genealogy | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

A Look at HeritageQuest Online’s New Interface

Posted on March 5, 2015 by SCblogger

One of our subscription databases got a new look and some new content this week! The “improved” HeritageQuest Online (now powered by Ancestry) can be accessed from home using the link on the Online Resources page under Research Tools on our … Continue reading →

Posted in Genealogy, Library | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

New Resource! Gale Genealogy Connect : Native American

Posted on December 18, 2014 by SCblogger

The Main Street location of the Davenport Public Library will be closed until December 26th for renovations.  That means our Special Collections Center will also be closed. You will still be able to access all the genealogical and local history … Continue reading →

Posted in Genealogy | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Scott County’s Rotten Bridge

Posted on October 17, 2014 by SCblogger

If you read this blog, you already know how much we love solving local history mysteries around here. Our latest one, featuring a peculiar epitaph referring to a tragic death, is perfect not only for this chilly month known for … Continue reading →

Posted in Genealogy, Local History | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Save the Date! October Offerings: Intro to Electronic Subscription Databases for Genealogy

Posted on September 20, 2013 by SCblogger

The Davenport Public Library subscribes to several electronic genealogy databases for our patrons’ research needs, including: Ancestry HeritageQuest Fold 3 Origins Genealogy Bank and Access Newspaper Archive You don’t even have to come down to our Special Collections Center to … Continue reading →

Posted in Genealogy, Library, Local History | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Aiding the Genealogy Effort: World War I Draft Registration Cards

Posted on May 30, 2013 by SCblogger

On April 6, 1917, the United States declared war on Germany.  On May 18, Congress passed the Selective Service Act, and every male resident of the United States between the ages of eighteen and forty-five, regardless of citizenship status, was … Continue reading →

Posted in Genealogy, Local History | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment