Posts Tagged ‘printz award’

2014 Michael L. Printz Award

January 27, 2014








This morning the recipients of biggest award in YA fiction, the Michael L. Printz Award, were announced.  This year there were 4 Printz Honor books and 1 winner of the Printz Award.  And here they are!

Printz Honors:

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell (YAYYYYY!  Read my review here)

Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal

Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner

Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool

midwinterbloodAnd the big winner of the Printz Award for 2014 is….

Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick

To place holds on any of the books, click the title or the cover.  So what do you think of the winners?  Are you happy or did your favorite get snubbed?  Sound off in the comments!

And the 2010 Printz Award Goes To…

January 30, 2010

And the 2010 Printz Award goes to…Going Bovine by Libba Bray.

Yeah, the Libba Bray our very own Amber featured in a recent YAuthorStalker post.  (Yay, Amber!)  Yeah, also the Libba Bray featured in this particular Happy Friday post where I kinda talked a bit of smack about how her vid was cool but didn’t really make me want to read her Going Bovine book.  Well, the Printz Award (the Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults, to be exact) is pretty much like one of the most prestigious YA Awards out there.  Looks as if someone should cut back on the smack and take a look at the book.  Will do, will do.  You should read it, too!  (Ok, enough with the rhyming…)

According to its catalog record Going Bovine, summarized, is as follows:  Cameron Smith, a disaffected sixteen year-old who, after being diagnosed with Creutzfeld Jakob’s (aka mad cow) disease, sets off on a road trip with a death-obsessed video gaming dwarf he meets in the hospital in an attempt to find a cure.

Did someone say death-obsessed video gaming dwarf?  What more can one hope for in a book?  Check it out.

Four Printz Honor Books were also named:

Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman

The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

Punkzilla by Adam Rapp

Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973 by John Barnes

A sincere congrats to Libba Bray and her well deserved success!  Kinda bummed Adam Rapp didn’t win, though, because I’m a HUGE fan.  Plus, I’ve never talked smack about him.


Jellicoe Road

April 16, 2009

Jellicoe RoadTaylor Markham has had a hard life.  Mom’s gone, Dad’s gone, and now her caretaker’s gone.  Taylor soldiers on, heading up her house in the territory wars that pit her boarding school against the local military school and the townies.  But so much more is afoot on Jellicoe Road.  Read this book if you like stories that are equal parts coming-of-age, mystery, tear-jerker, and romance.  It’s no wonder it won the Printz Award this year, it’s superb.


– sam

Award Winning Titles

January 30, 2009

If you’re looking for a great book you might want to check out one of the following award winning titles.  Both the Morris Award and the Printz Award winners were recently announced. 

The 2009 Printz Award Winner: 

Jellicoe Road

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. 

The 2009 Morris Award Winner: 

A Curse As Dark As Gold

A Curse Dark As Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce

If you haven’t read them yet, now is the time to add them to your list!