Archive for the ‘Read Alikes’ Category

Book Trailer: The Eye of Minds

October 21, 2013

The Maze Runner author James Dashner’s new book The Eye of Minds is out now!  Here’s the blurb, via the publisher:  ”Michael is a skilled internet gamer in a world of advanced technology. When a cyber-terrorist begins to threaten players, Michael is called upon to seek him and his secrets out”.  Sounds exciting!

Check out the trailer above and don’t forget to place a hold on a copy!

Looking for your next great read? Check out NoveList!

August 29, 2013

One of my favorite ways to discover new books is NoveList, a database we subscribe to here at DPL!  NoveList is great for when you really like a certain author or book and you’d like to read more books that are similar.  It’s super easy to use, here’s a quick tutorial!

From the homepage of our website, hover over Research Tools and click Online Resources from the drop-down menu.  On the second page of options, you’ll find NoveList!  Make sure you have your library card nearby because you’ll be asked for that barcode number.

 

NoveList1

 

Once you’ve made it to NoveList’s homepage, you’re ready to start searching.  Let’s say you’ve read all of John Green’s books and LOVED them all, and now you want to find something similar that you’ll enjoy just as much.  In that search bar at the top, just type in “John Green” and click Author, and hit search.

 

Novelist2

 

As you can see from the screenshot above, John Green is right at the top of the list.  You can click his name for more info about him and his books, or you can scroll down a few lines and click on Author Read-alikes to find a list of authors and reasons why you might like their books if you like John Green.

 

Novelist4

 

Let’s say The Fault in Your Stars is you absolute favorite John Green book, and you want to find another book that is like it.  Instead of searching for John Green read-alikes, you can find read-alikes specifially for TFiOS!  From the NoveList homepage, type “The Fault in Our Stars” in the search bar, click on Title, and hit the search button.  Now you should be seeing an info page all about TFiOS, and on the right side you’ll see a list of books that you might also enjoy.

And there you have it, your next favorite book discovered!  You can do this with just about any author or book.  Visit NoveList from our homepage today and give it a try!

If you like Sarah Dessen….

August 22, 2013

themoonthetruthjustlistenwhathappened

Did you just finish Sarah Dessen’s new novel The Moon and More, and now you don’t know what to read next?  Here are some suggestions:

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han – “Belly spends the summer she turns sixteen at the beach just like every other summer of her life, but this time things are very different.”

North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley – “Terra, a sensitive, artistic high school senior born with a facial port-wine stain, struggles with issues of inner and outer beauty with the help of her Goth classmate Jacob.”

The Story of Us by Deb Caletti – “After jilting two previous fiances, Cricket’s mother is finally marrying the right man, but as wedding attendees arrive for a week of festivities, complications arise for Cricket involving her own love life, her beloved dog Jupiter, and her mother’s reluctance to marry.”

The Disenchantments by Nina Lacour – “Colby’s post-high school plans have long been that he and his best friend Beth would tour with her band, then spend a year in Europe, but when she announces that she will start college just after the tour, Colby struggles to understand why she changed her mind and what losing her means for his future.”

thesummernorththestoryofusdisenchantments

How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr – “Told from their own viewpoints, seventeen-year-old Jill, in grief over the loss of her father, and Mandy, nearly nineteen, are thrown together when Jill’s mother agrees to adopt Mandy’s unborn child but nothing turns out as they had anticipated.”

Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski – “Sixteen-year-old April, a high school junior, and her friend Vi, a senior, get a crash course in reality as the list of things they should not do becomes a list of things they did while living parent-free in Westport, Connecticut, for the semester.”

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson – “A traumatic event near the end of the summer has a devastating effect on Melinda’s freshman year in high school.”

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares – “During their first summer apart, four teenage girls, best friends since earliest childhood, stay in touch through a shared pair of secondhand jeans that magically adapts to each of their figures and affects their attitudes to their different summer experiences.”

*all book descriptions are from the publishers

 

If you liked Divergent….

April 5, 2013

divergent

Did you guys know that they’re making Divergent into a movie?  Shailene Woodley from The Secret Life of the American Teenager is going to play Tris!  If you already read the book and are looking for something similar to read while you anxiously await the movie, check out some of these other futuristic, dystopian novels that have lots of action and strong teen characters:

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Enclave by Ann Aguirre

If you like John Green….

March 27, 2013

Have you read all of John Green’s books and now you’re wondering what to read next?  Here are some suggestions:

johngreenalaskapaper-covers-rockthirteenreasons

If you liked Looking For Alaska: You might want to try other boarding school novels like Paper Covers Rock by Jenny Hubbard (if you’re looking for another guy narrator) and The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart (if you’d like to switch to a girl narrator). Another great choice is Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher; like Alaska, it’s about a guy who is piecing together information about a girl he thought he knew.

johngreenkatherinesstatisticalwhywebrokeup

If you liked An Abundance of Katherines:  Other road trip stories like The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith and Car Trouble by Jeanne DuPrau could be right up your alley.   Much like Katherines, Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler is (as the title suggests) about dealing with a breakup.

 

johngreenpapertownsdisenchantmentsveradietz

If you liked Paper Towns:  Check out some more books about guys falling for and/or getting caught up in the lives of complex, eccentric, mysterious girls.  You might try out The Disenchantments by Nina Lacour, The Amanda Project by Melissa Kantor, and Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King.

 

johngreenwillgraysonMyMostExcellentYear2008nick-norahs-infinite-playlist

If you liked Will Grayson, Will Grayson:  Try some other books told in multiple perspectives, like My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger or Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan.   If you’re interested in another LGBT read, Geography Club by Brent Hartinger is a great pick for fans of Will Grayson.

 

johngreentfiosdeadlinetruthabout

If you liked The Fault in Our Stars:  Moving stories about love and loss like Deadline by Chris Crutcher, The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen, and Before I Die by Jenny Downham might be just what you’re looking for.

For more reading lists, be sure to check out our Recommended Reads for Teens page!