2010 Literary Award Winners Announced

Last week the American Library Association announced the literary award winners for 2010.  Most of you are probably familiar with the Newbery and Caldecott Awards that have been given out since the 1920s and 30s to deserving books written for children.  However, you might not be aware that several prestigious awards are also given out annually to spectacular titles written for young adults.  All this week we’ll be featuring this year’s winning YA titles and authors.  Enjoy!

First up we have author L.K. Madigan who won the William C. Morris YA Debut Award for Flash Burnout.  This particular award honors first-time YA authors.  This is only the second year the Morris Award has been given out so the small list of winners will be a fun one to watch grow over the coming years as YA literature just keeps getting better and better as more fantastically talented YA authors appear on the scene.  If you’ve already read Madigan’s debut, check out one of the other 2010 Morris Award finalists:

Ash by Malinda Lo

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

The Everafter by Amy Huntley

Hold Still by Nina LaCour

Happy Reading!


Tags: , , ,